https://www.tumblr.com/audio_file/theozilla/142468225318/tumblr_n6xc993sEp1qgxy6b?plead=please-dont-download-this-or-our-lawyers-wont-let-us-host-audio

jasonfnsaint:

Savage Garden
I Want You
Savage Garden

Anytime I need to see your face, I just close my eyes.
and I am taken to a place where your crystal mind and
magenta feelings take up shelter in the base of my spine.
Sweet, like a chic-a-cherry cola.

I was 11 years old when I was watching the Kids’ Choice Awards on Nickelodeon and some gal presented Savage Garden. She made a mention of how the next performer could be synonymous with “cherry cola” and everyone went apeshit.

I had never heard the song “I Want You” by Savage Garden. I don’t even think I’d heard it in passing. My knowledge of what music on the radio was consisted of modern country (boo), rap, and ‘classic’ rock. When Savage Garden performed this song, I thought “Wow, this is fucking neat. It doesn’t sound like anything else I’ve ever heard.” A week or two later, I was skating at the skating rink and the song came on. I recognized it and loved it, so the next day, I asked my mom to buy me the CD.

The following Monday, I had the song completely memorized and was listening to it on my CD player at the bus stop. My friends, who I usually talked to every morning, asked me what I was listening to. I acted like knowing who Savage Garden was meant that I was the single coolest kid in the world, since only a month or so prior, a girl I knew introduced me to a band called Bush. My friends didn’t care less, but I remember thinking it was just the coolest thing to really like music.

I guess ever since, my love for it has grown by leaps and bounds. I had always thought that the most popular music was the best music, and although Savage Garden was a popular band, at that point, they weren’t yet, not among my group of friends (who listened to country music and rap music). For the next several years, that’s all I would do is attempt to find music that nobody else was listening to. 2 years later, for the first time, I heard a band called The Offspring, and the rest is history.

I can’t remember the last time I listened to this song all the way through. It’s terrible.

Leave a Reply

